North Shore-LIJ’s Lenox Hill Healthplex Opens Emergency Department in NYC’s West Village

July 27, 2014

Turner is proud to announce the completion of Lenox Hill Healthplex’s Phyllis and William Mack Pavilion, Manhattan’s first free-standing 24/7 Emergency Department (ED).

“We attribute this project’s success to great teamwork,” said Ms. Donna Ryan-Rose, Director of Physical Assets for North Shore-LIJ. “The collaboration among Turner, our owner’s representative, Jones Lang LaSalle, our architect, Perkins Eastman, our engineers, BR+A and Robert Silman Associates, our exterior façade consultant, CANY, and North Shore-LIJ clinical colleagues has been paramount in repurposing this landmark district building into Manhattan’s first ED facility.”

The 60,000-square-foot LEED Gold Pre-Certified facility is part of a multi-phase 160,000-square-foot project scheduled to be completed by 2016. The opening marks an important project milestone for the community, and is a reminder of the relationship that exists between Turner and North Shore-LIJ Health System, the project’s owner.

Echoing Ms. Ryan-Rose, Turner Project Engineer, Ms. Satoko Hoshino stated, “We were able to overcome numerous challenges by establishing a model of communication that facilitated teamwork and collaborative problem solving.”  Of the more unique challenges that the team overcame was the selective structural demolition and infill of a mid-century concrete building in order to create three new elevator shafts, new mechanical risers, an ambulance drive-through bay, a street level loading dock, and double-height central nurse station.

Project work,  especially the façade’s restoration, was completed in coordination with the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission,  which oversaw the installation of refurbished historic windows and new glass block units that upgrade the performance of the building’s envelope.  

Pictured, from left: Tom Stachowiak, Keith Behnke, Verneta Harrison, Sandy Marcellus, Leonor White, Jim Pellecchia, Ana Garate, Charlie Smith, Satoko Hoshino, Jeremy Timmons, Richard Alvarez, Patrick Woodward, Michael Pflug, Kevin Vikse, Danny Keung

Not shown: Matthew Miranda, Eric Bach, Jacob Raskin, James Romagnoli

For Services / Specializations
and Additional Key Contacts
See Office Network

*Office includes a Special
Projects Division or Interiors